“Smooth seas do not make skillful sailors.” African Proverb

Despite my mother’s best efforts I am not a churchgoer, but I believe there is room for multiple faiths in the world and they should all be respected. One Sunday morning about a year ago I was feeling rather desperate and found myself in a beautiful old church in Times Square (it pre-dates Times Square actually). It helped me in that moment. Whether you have faith in god, karma, Justin Beiber (like an 11-year-old I know), or just yourself, it’s important to maintain perspective in really crap situations. Eff the funk.

These words are used as a mantra by people battling with addiction but they hold true no matter what you find yourself up against. Feel free to write any name in the blank space (Muhammad/God/Mom/Dad/fate/Sparky the dog) or leave it empty.

______ grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,
Courage to change the things I can,
And wisdom to know the difference.

